Virginia Law on Sexual Abuse of a Child
Sexual abuse of a child under 15 years of age in Richmond Virginia is considered one of the main crimes that are defined under the Virginia law on sex crimes. Such laws are used to prosecute all the crimes related to sex along with the sexual assault. The statutory laws could be used for prosecuting the offenses, which are mainly linked to the victim being below the provided age that is mentioned in the Virginia Code. On the contrary, the non-statutory sexual abuse laws are used often to prosecuting the offenses in which coercion or force is used by the accused person.
Definition of Sexual Abuse of a Child
Sexual abuse of a child under 15 years of age in Richmond Virginia is defined under the §18.2-67.4:2 of Virginia Code. According to the provided definition, sexually abusing a child is associated with serious punishments. This crime mainly depends on the particulars of the offense committed. This includes the commitment with the higher degrees of the charge extrinsically receiving the harsher punishments. The sexual abuse of a child under 15 years of age in Richmond Virginia includes the sexual, emotional, or the physical abuse of the minors as well as the exploitation or neglect.
Under the Virginia law, any child’s sexual abuse, who is under 15, is considered and enforced as a charge provided under the Virginia statutes. This means that this charge could be applied to all those cases in which the abused child is aged younger than the Virginia age of consent. This point is applied in a proper way, besides the fact that the victim engages willingly in the sexual relations with the offender. The criminal courts have taken the sexual abuse of a child under 15 years of age in Richmond Virginia quite seriously.
Prosecution and Reporting of Sexual Abuse Crimes
Different crimes can be prosecuted in the courts that are related to the sexual abuse of a child under. But the punishments held by the courts in each case are decided on different terms, depending on the nature of the case and the facts present. The adults who communicate with the children directly and are with regular access on daily basis are considered the most important people to report the child abuse incidents immediately. Such individuals are considered mandatory reporters in Richmond Virginia and include the child care workers, police officers, and teachers.
The accused person of sexual abuse of a child under 15 years of age in Richmond Virginia is given strict punishments. Such mandatory reporters are required to report such incidents within 72 hours time when the abuse has occurred. The Virginia Department of Social Services is the respective department where the reports of the child abuse are investigated. Any person who has been guilty of the sexual abuse caused to a child who is under 15 years of age should seek the advice of the legal counsel who has experience in defending the cases of child sexual abuse.